Q&A with Gordon Robertson

Scottish singer-songwriter wows at International Song Competition!

Scottish singer-songwriter Gordon Robertson is hitting the right notes with his single: Vodka, Lemon & Lime.

He has a soft Bublé-esque voice, plays acoustic guitar and… the cello! Based in Glasgow, he gigs across the country and shares his lovely jazz/acoustic sound with listeners.

Check out his new single:

Gordon’s single “Vodka Lemon Lime” is available to buy on iTunes, Google Play, Amazon Music and Deezer.

Q&A

Q: Where did your love of music come from?

A: My love of music came from my parents and family – I was exposed to music from a very young age.

Q: When & why did you start playing and singing?

A: I started playing and singing because I wanted to be able to play & sing the songs that I was falling in love with. Learning chord symbols was the most important step in the early days.

Q: What do you think makes a great song?

A: A great song for me is a combination of a dynamite melody, how it interacts with the chords/harmony below it and crucially, a subject matter that has the ability to be both relatable and also intimate.

Q: Which famous musicians have you learned from?

A: I’ve learnt from countless musicians – some being: Tony Bennett, Louis Armstrong, Ed Sheeran, Oscar Paterson & Ella Fitzgerald. I also listen to Radio 2 in the car as it’s wide variety of music subconsciously influences so much of my songwriting.

Check out Gordon Robertson’s Website: http://www.gordonrobertsonmusic.com

Leave a Reply

